



MINUTES OF THE ACCEL SPECIAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS TELECONFERENCE MEETING

Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 11:00 AM

LOCATION: Teleconference Phone - Dial: (669) 900-6833, Meeting ID: 987 2996 1292# Video - https://alliantinsurance.zoom.us/j/98729961292

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Tracey Matthews, City of Anaheim Jena Covey, City of Bakersfield Betsy McClinton, City of Burbank Christina Alger, City of Modesto Alternate Michael Andersen, City of Monterey Claudia Koob, City of Mountain View Jeannette Chavez, City of Ontario Sandra Blanch, City of Palo Alto Mark Howard, City of Santa Barbara Ross Brandon, City of Santa Cruz Alternate Oles Gordeev, City of Santa Monica Charlotte Dunn, City of Visalia

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Rhonda Combs, City of Salinas

GUESTS AND CONSULTANTS:

Conor Boughey, Alliant Insurance Services Michael Simmons, Alliant Insurance Services Daniel Howell, Alliant Insurance Services Lorissa Huey, Alliant Insurance Services

A. CALL TO ORDER

Jena Covey called the meeting to order at 11:01 AM.





B1a. Program Administrator's Report

B1a. Excess Liability Renewal – Carrier Participation Update

Conor Boughey and Daniel Howell reported that the \$10,000,000 excess of \$5,000,000 layer with a \$2,000,000 corridor placed with Great American Insurance Company is an admitted carrier. During the July 1, 2020 renewal, it was understood that Great American Insurance Company (and other carriers) would be adding an Organic Pathogen Exclusion (COVID-19 exclusion). This proposed exclusion went to the California Department of Insurance for approval but was denied. As a result, Great American Insurance Company is requesting that it be allowed to write coverage through its non-admitted carrier, Great American Excess and Surplus. The coverage form would remain the same and Great American has agreed to pay ACCEL's Surplus Lines Taxes and Fees.

A motion was made to accept the change from Great American's admitted carrier to its non-admitted carrier.

MOTION: Betsy McClinton

SECOND: Michael Andersen MOTION CARRIED

	Tracey Matthews	Jena Covey	Betsy McClinton	Christina Alger	Michael Andersen	Claudia Koob	Jeannette Chavez	Sandra Blanch	Rhonda Combs	Mark Howard	Ross Brandon	Oles Gordeev	Charlotte Dunn
Aye	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	Х
Nay													
Abstain													

C. PUBLIC COMMENTS

There were no public comments.

ADJOURNMENT

Jena Covey adjourned the meeting at 11:14 AM.